2013 AWBA Texas Shootout

TExas Shootout Division "A" winners. Photo by Gary Ryan

Top bowlers meet in Texas for AWBA tournament

More than 30 bowlers turned out for the First Annual Texas Shootout bowling tournament hosted by the American Wheelchair Bowlers Association (AWBA).

Kicking off the three-day tournament was the “Up and Down” event, which pairs abled-bodied bowlers with wheelchair bowler counterparts. “This event involves the general public and helps provide awareness of wheelchair bowling,” says AWBA Director Gary Ryan. “At this event the teams consisted of three able bodied bowlers and one wheelchair bowler.”

Texas Shootout Division "B" winners. Photo Gary Ryan

More than 27 Up and Down teams filled the center, and six professional bowlers from the United States Bowling Congress (USBC) were on hand adding to the experience, giving tips, and allowing participants to rub elbows with the pros.

Pro or not, the Up and Down event was extremely close with only seven pins separating first to third place.  

The Doubles competition opened with 15 teams. Don Porpora and Paul Cook took the Doubles honor defeating Kevin Monroe and David Nelson. Mark Shepherd and Peter Arbollo settled for third place. The Singles competition was very competitive in all divisions.  

The “B” Division saw first-time winner and brand-new AWBA member Millie Irizarry of Florida battle to an emotional finish taking first place.    

In “A” Division, Wayne Webber outlasted Paul Cook to take the crown back to Florida. And in the Scratch Division, Eddy Hutchens defeated Roger Templar to take the honors to Colorado.



                 “A” Division            “B” Division              Scratch Division
1st Place          Wayne Webber            Millie Irizarry                Eddy Hutchens
2nd Place    Paul Cook                     Smiley Wallace                Roger Templar
3rd Place    Don Porpora            Stephen Smith                Mark Shepherd    
4th Place    JK Johnston            Kevin Schaefer                Mike DeLoach
5th Place    Gabe DeLeon            Gil Herrera                            Shawn Beam

                        Paul Cook/Don Porpora
                        Kevin Monroe/Dave Nelson


error: Content is protected !!